Parents

Alphabet Dating #2 -Bingo baby!

As previously mentioned me and the Hubby started Alphabet dating five months after Ben was born. Having been to an amusement park the next idea was quite an easy decision to go to Bingo.

We have previously played at holiday parks with relatives but nothing too serious. We knew this time we were there for a night out and cheap booze rather than winning money but any wins would be welcome!

We turned up to our local Mecca hall and had to sign up. By doing this not only did we get our books for the whole night for a fiver each (£11 savings per person) but we also got a free soft drink and some other discounts which I zoned out for.

We entered the hall and paid for our books, collected our dabbers and found us a table. There awaiting us a menu full of yummy goodness – ok I lie. It’s almost similar to a greene king/Wetherspoons kind of menu but at £4 a meal with a drink you cannot complain.

Hubby being the gent he is went and ordered food and a pitcher of drink for me – mums night off is going to end hopefully with me falling over due to lots of alcohol being consumed!!

img_5151

So as we are both really Bingo newbies, the amount of books confused us and even the lady who kindly tried to explain to us how the books worked throughout the night didnt make it any clearer. The fact that one book had about 10 pages and we had two single sheets and another book with four pages, was just a bit of a mind boggler!

Hubby arrived with the drinks just as the first game was starting. I was panicking as I was worried how I’d handle all the numbers myself let alone dabbing his book too. So off we started and man did this caller go fast! After a few rounds we were getting into the swing of things and I was on a roll. I wasn’t close to any lines but I could keep up with the speed of the numbers yay!

The first game came to an end and neither of us managed to win anything. I’m not sure if this is in every Bingo hall but they announced that the tables were back on and if you paid a pound into your table you could play more Bingo until the next game started.

This was when me and Hubby managed to do what we love best. People watching!!! Hubby found little counters that are used for the table games and decided he wanted to see not only how many can stay on his face but also just to see the reaction from the fellow bingoers in the hall! Some lady walking past him tapped him on his shoulder and told him “mate, you look like an idiot”

img_5146

Not knowing how this would make him react, she actually made it worse as he decided more should go on and now he was looking around for her at her table. Every time she walked past him throughout the night he kept doing it just for her. (it amused him – the drunk me also found it amusing as she clearly thought he was a tit… he was just doing it for shits and giggles and to see what her next line would be!)

Then came the National game, this is where the house winnings was £90 but if you did it in 25 numbers or less (the fewest in the country to date)you were on to some major money! Again, no luck here!

There was a Christmas bauble game which you didn’t go for a line or two, just the straight house. Again no luck for either me or hubby… although Hubby’s friend did tell him that he still looked like a prat hahaha!

Then everyone got up to walk out and we thought maybe the last book was actually for the first game which we had missed as it started too early for our drinking heads! But again, some lovely bloke let us know that it was due to start at 9:15 which meant enough time for another beer for hubby and the millionth toilet trip for this mum bladder!

The last game came, mummah got herself £5 by winning a line but Hubby went home empty handed! woohoo!

We decided that we would not venture into the town but go home and let Aunty Georgia be relieved from her babysitting duties and continue drinking!!

I felt pretty sober by this point which was frustrating and only one drink indoors was enough to make me want my bed!

We both had an amazing time. We originally thought “C” would be going to the cinema but we’re actually considering going to our local Clay pigeon shooting range!

I really am loving this idea as I get to do things I’ve never done before.

Marvellous Mondays badge by Hello Archie
My Random Musings
This Mum's Life
Petite Pudding

Mummascribbles</div

3 Little Buttons
One Messy Mama
Tammymum
Mummy Fever - Share With Me
Cuddle Fairy
13 thoughts on “Alphabet Dating #2 -Bingo baby!

  1. Hahaha..such a cute, lovely and a bit crazy idea to be Alphabet dating! Why didn’t I thought of that?;)) BINGO- I always thought only retired people were playing that (don’t take it the wrong way, it’s what I’ve learned from watching movies;)), but this actually looks like a lot of fun!! Keep it up and may you have lots of fun along the way!x #DreamTeam

    Like

  2. I love this idea. I would be clueless at Bingo and would be partaking in the cheap drinks more! Looking forward to C!! Thanks for linking up to #familyfun

    Like

  3. I have never actually played bingo well other than like you, on holiday. But at £4 for dinner and drink goodness I think I should!! It sounds like you both had fun shame you didn’t get the £90 eh! Hope you have a lovely Christmas and thank you for joining us at #familyfun x

    Like

  4. It’s a lovely idea to think of date nights for each letter of the alphabet. The bingo sounds interesting and I didn’t realise that you could win so much. Well done on your £5 win 🙂 Thank you for sharing with the #dreamteam 🙂

    Like

    1. We did a comedy night in Camden the other week and we’re currently deciding on our D date. Keep an eye out for my write up at the end of the month 👍 This type of date really helps as we’re trying to make it interesting and not the usual restaurants and cinema trips x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah definitely! Haha you should totally go to ‘Dressage'(thats would be hilarious!) … or a ‘Disco’ (like the old fashioned roller blade ones… ‘Dream boys’!?!? Haha! Time of year can be tricky with certain letters I suppose! ❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

