Parents

Ben’s Teething Troubles

I was super excited when Madelynn at EasyBreazyBaby asked me and Ben to try a pair of teething mittens.

Ben has been teething for about three months now and yet nothing has broken through his gums. I went out and bought several teething items such as:

1) Nuby keys – Ben liked the squishiness of this but it was too wide for his little mouth

img_5054

2) Nuby ring – these were easier to hold on to, but the bees got in his way

img_5055

3) Little Squidges teething necklace – I loved this as I could wear something cute without worrying ben would grab it and break it – but he has showed no interest! I wonder if it’s because it reminds me of a rubber you got at primary school.

img_3605

Check out their clothes as I’m slowly developing a problem with buying too much!

4) Toys R Us toothstick – similar to a toothbrush I guess but runs along the gums to soothe/encourage gums to rip? Either way Ben liked this to hold but couldn’t quite find his mouth as his little arms were too small for the length (adult sized toothbrush basically)

img_5057
5) Nuby teething dummy – there is two parts to this, a solid mouth guard with lines to rub along the gums and one soft jellied bit with little raised bubbles that massage and soothe. This bit seemed to be brilliant for Ben but after a while he didn’t want it in his mouth. Similar to a mouth guard I wonder if it also builds up Saliva (as teething does anywho)

img_5056

So to discover not only another option is available but with Ben’s coordination not his finest hour (lord help him if he has mine!) and his constant thumb chewing; it was nice to hear about these teething mittens.

Considering the mittens were from Canada; they were quite quick with the delivery. They arrived in a cute little envelope that fits through the letterbox so you don’t have to worry about missing the delivery!

The actual mittens themselves are made from a waterproof material that is also easy to wipe over if a bit of baby puke appears!

img_3679

Our first attempt at Ben trying the mittens to be fair wasn’t very successful, he hates socks and shoes on his feet and always kicks them off and I’m afraid he did this with his hands!

I tried to coax him to putting them in his mouth holding them himself but no! He wasn’t having any of it!

img_5013
On our second attempt, it was more successful as he kept them on longer and actually tried to munch on them for a little while!

The only problem with this try was that there wasn’t much space left on the Velcro meaning they kept dropping on the floor when he was in his bouncer.

Overall opinion

I really love the idea of these; it is a product made by a mum who knows the hardship of trying to help soothe a baby who is teething, but physically cannot hold the teething aids on the market right now.

Unfortunately, Ben didn’t like the mittens but that could be that he felt trapped with them, perhaps if similar to a glove there was a separate thumb section as he had a phase for a while where he kept chewing his thumb?

I also found the material a bit too small for his wrists as there wasn’t much space left on the velcro – but considering he was six months on our second attempt is not surprising. Perhaps a drawstring option that then tucks excess string in a pocket of some sort for an additional cost?

Disclaimer

I was asked to review this product in exchange for my honest review and being given this product does not alter my opinion in anyway. This review is from my own personal perception; given in good faith and has not been sponsored or endorsed.

Diary of an imperfect mum
Dear Bear and Beany
Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com
Admissions Of A Working Mother
Mummuddlingthrough
A Cornish Mum
Twin Mummy and Daddy
Post Comment Love
3 Little Buttons
18 thoughts on “Ben’s Teething Troubles

  1. I have one of those toothing stick things. I didn’t realise it was for teething. I thought it was a toothbrush!
    It’s tough when they are teething but not old enough to hold onto things to put in their mouth. Our daughter was the same 😦 #SharingtheBlogLove

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ben is an extremely cute baby! Ideas dreamt up by mothers are usually the best. I’m sure that there’s a market for this product. Alison x #StayClassyMama

    Like

  3. Teething is hard work! My two boys teethed without any fuss whatsoever, they had teeth by 5 months and didn’t have any issues. My two girls teethed since the day they were born and had no teeth until they were gone 13 months! #stayclassymama

    Like

  4. They do seem a good idea, if your baby will wear them! I’ve tried pretty much everything, and little man chews on it all for a few minutes then loses interest. The only thing that holds his interest is my for mama and baba teething necklace, but i keep forgetting to wear the damn thing! whoops lol. #coolmumclub

    Like

  5. Aargh teething – our youngest really struggles with her teeth. She’s over two now and hopefully the end is in sight – love the honesty in your review. Good luck in finding the perfect solution, sadly I think it’s called time 🙂
    Thanks for linking up to #coolmumclub

    Like

  6. Teething really is the worst – my son finally has all his teeth and I can’t quite believe we’ve made it here! We had similar problems – I tried endless teething toys, but Max just wasn’t interested in putting any of them in his mouth, he much preferred his hands. And like Ben, he’s never liked things like gloves (even now I can’t get him to wear them), so I don’t think these would have worked for him either. But for a less choosy baby I can see that they’re a great idea, and worth a go! Thanks for joining us at #SharingtheBlogLove

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I hated the teething years the twins were a nightmare these look fab Thanks for linking to the #THAT FRIDAY LINKY come back next week please

    Like

  8. They do seem like a really good idea and I can see the appeal of something that they don’t have to hold to chew. My two wouldn’t stand for any kind of gloves though so I think we would have had similar issues. My friend had twins and swore by amber infant (safe) necklaces? I never tried them so couldn’t comment. It sounds as though these mittens could be brilliant with a few tweaks. Thanks for sharing with #DreamTeam x

    Liked by 1 person

  9. My baby is the same and been teething for months being in so much pain! I found a herbal powder that really works (cannot for the life of me remember the name!) and a cheeky Chompers hippo called chewy with really good handles and a strap to stop it from falling – it’s brilliant! Also has a speak which bubba loves 🙂 #picknmix

    Like

  10. Teething can be hell. Luckily my boys didn’t suffer too badly when they were small, but I do remember a few days of non stop crying – from me and them 😉 Thanks for linking up to #Picknmix

    Stevie x

    Like

Leave a Reply

